Loading Events

« All Events

FEA – Case Clinic: For Money or Love? (CE)

November 3 @ 1:00 pm - 4:30 pm EST

Financial and Emotional Considerations in the Continuity of a Family Firm

This case clinic will add to the knowledge and skills gained in the FEA Program “Continuity Planning” module. The session will delve into the complex interplay between family emotions, financial considerations, and the needs of the business, as the owning family wrestles with the transition process.

This will be an interactive workshop where participants will address family strategy and family dynamics that are impacting the succession process. In small breakout groups, participants will collaborate and recommend a path forward that considers all of the family’s needs and wants.

The objectives for this program include the following:

  • Analyze the complexity surrounding succession planning and implementation
  • Apply tools that highlight the main hurdles in succession and help to overcome them
  • Work on a real succession case
  • Develop an actual succession plan

The case will be sent out two weeks prior to the session.

Event Details

When

Tuesday, November 3rd, 2020

10:00 AM - 1:30 PM PST/ 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM MST / 12:00 PM – 3:30 PM CST / 1:00 PM - 4:30 PM EST / 2:00 PM - 5:30 PM AST

Where

Online live via Zoom. A Zoom meeting link will be emailed to registrants prior to the event.

Who Can Attend

Designated Family Enterprise Advisors may attend this course.

FEAs who attend this session will receive 4 continuing education credits toward their annual FEA designation requirement.

Cost

$300

Cancellation Policy

All cancellation requests must be made to Dawn Ainikkal in writing at: dainikkal@family-enterprise-xchange.com. Refund requests will be accepted up until 3 weeks prior to the date of the course.

Contact

Dawn Ainikkal
dainikkal@family-enterprise-xchange.com
905-337-8375 x232

Presenter

Peter Jaskiewicz MBA, Ph.D.

Peter Jaskiewicz

Peter Jaskiewicz is a Full Professor at the Telfer School of Management and the University Research Chair in Enduring Entrepreneurship in Ottawa. Peter comes from a business family and has worked with family businesses for 15 years. Recognized as an international leader in family business research, Peter has a track record as a speaker at conferences, workshops and executive education programs around the globe. He has also been a visiting Professor at leading universities including Zhejiang University in China, King’s College in London and, currently, the Sorbonne Business School in Paris. Peter is currently an advisory board member of the non-for profit organization Venture for Canada and an editor of the leading academic journal in the field – the Family Business Review. In addition to these initiatives, he has served as an advisor to several family businesses in Europe and North America.

Peter Jaskiewicz

Details

Date:
November 3
Time:
1:00 pm - 4:30 pm EST
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , , ,
Website:
https://family-enterprise-xchange.site-ym.com/events/register.aspx?id=1195345