Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar – Managing Conflict in Family Business with Blair Trippe

September 17 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm EDT

Among the most important challenges that family business stakeholders will face is managing the unique conflict that impacts family enterprise.

Join FEX in a virtual conversation with Blair Trippe, Managing Partner of Continuity Family Business Consulting and Wendy Sage-Hayward, MA, FEA, in which we will discuss how to approach both active conflict—when families fight—and passive conflict—when families get stuck, unable to make important decisions in a timely manner. Participants will leave understanding why conflicts in families that own and manage companies and/or share assets are so common, and why failing to understand and manage conflict poses such a great threat to both the enterprise and the family. We will consider:

  • Why is conflict built into the structure of family enterprise
  • Why is it so extreme and intractable?
  • What are the key components of conflict and how might they be addressed?
  • What steps can you take to reduce the potential for family business conflict and minimize its impact on the family and the business.

This event is open to the family business community – FEX Members and Non-Members are welcome to attend at no additional cost.

Event Details

When

Thursday, September 17, 2020
2:00PM EDT/ 3:00PM ADT/ 1:00PM CDT/ 12:00PM MDT/ 11:00AM PDT

CE Credits for FEAs

FEAs who attend this session will earn 1 continuing education credit toward their annual FEA designation requirement.

Where

Online via Zoom

From the comfort of your home!

Contact

Stephanie Freedman, National Coordinator, Membership and Community Engagement
sfreedman@family-enterprise-xchange.com

Host(s)

Blaire Trippe

Blair Trippe, MBA
Managing Partner, Continuity Family Business Consulting

Blair is Managing Partner of Continuity Family Business Consulting where she works with families who own and manage operating companies and share assets together on issues related to succession planning, governance development and conflict management. Her expertise as a negotiator, mediator, and family business consultant is grounded in the study of strategic management and conflict resolution methodologies. She brings a highly specialized approach to the understanding of family systems and the relationship challenges encountered when families work and own together.

Blair’s leadership in the mediation field helped create a new specialty through the development of “Elder Decisions” – a division of Agreement Resources LLC, a consulting firm she co-founded.

To learn more about Blair Trippe please visit the Continuity Family Business Consulting here.

If you would like to learn more about the Continuity Family Business Consulting please visit their website here.

Wendy New

Wendy Sage-Hayward, MA, FEA
Senior Consultant at the Family Business Consulting Group

Wendy has over 25 years of experience working with business leaders, family firms, and boards. An educator, author, adjudicator, and family business member/director, she brings deep knowledge, perspective, and passion to serving diverse, global clients across sectors. Wendy is especially skilled at facilitating meaningful conversations with multi-generational families on firm continuity, leadership, next generation preparation, governance, and conflict resolution. In every instance, she develops compelling frameworks, sharp insights, and practical solutions to ensure her clients achieve their goals while maintaining family harmony.

Details

Date:
September 17
Time:
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm EDT
Event Categories:
, , , ,
Event Tags:
, ,
Website:
https://family-enterprise-xchange.site-ym.com/events/register.aspx?id=1331861